STEM Central

A Community of Practice for NSF STEM Projects

STEP Central Webinar: Nurturing an "Ecosystem" of students and faculty engagement leads to STEP Student Success

Seven years ago, San José State University (SJSU) received a NSF STEM Talent Expansion Program (STEP) grant (Type 1A, Grant #0653260).  We embarked on a journey to create and nurture an “ecosystem” to increase our STEM student success in the College of Science.  The three objectives of our STEP grant were:  1.  Expand and enhance academic and career advising to entering students;  2.  Provide professional development opportunities to faculty who teach “STEM” gateway courses; and 3.  Immerse STEM majors into comprehensive learning communities.  Uniting all three objectives was the need for data analysis and a tracking mechanism to monitor student progress to degree.

This webinar will reflect on the lessons learned from this project as well as how this STEP project has transformed the student success culture at San José State University.  This session will also offer opportunities to engage participants on how they can adapt our lessons learned into their own STEP projects. 

Join the pre-webinar QandA:   Do you have a question for the presenter?  Do you have a thought about peer mentoring that you would like to share?  Please log in to STEP Central and join the discussion HERE.   The presenter will use your ideas and suggestions in preparation for the webinar.

Location

April 11,  2013
Time: 11:00AM PDT, 12:00PM MDT, 1:00PM CDT, 2:00PM EDT
Register HERE